WHAT DOESN’T KILL YOU MAKES YOU STRONGER

As you all know, I had a nail breakage situation over the weekend. What you all don’t know, is that I had a second, less intense, break the following day! I’ve been working hard on trying to keep my nails together but all the breaking has given me the urge to bite them. So instead of giving in, I decided to buy a nail strengthener to help ease the problem.

NOTE: This is a First Impressions post, not a review post.

hardasnails

SALLY HANSEN STRENGTH TREATMENT – $2.99 (Ulta)

So Salley Hansen’s strength treatment has always been my go-to nail treatment. You apply it on clean nails and it helps strengthen the nail beds and growth. I usually use it as a nice base coat but there isn’t any heavy duty instructions when it comes to this product- which is why I love it. However, as I was about to buy it, I thought- “Why not switch it up?”

So this trip I wanted to see if I could invest in something different.

hoof

HOOF HANDS: NAIL STRENGTHENING CREAM – $4.98 (Walmart)

So the Hoof Hands: Nail Strengthening Cream caught my eyes first, mainly because I had never seen a nail strengthening cream before. The packaging of the product was nice and I mean, it’s the best selling nail cream…which only makes me wonder how many nail creams are actually out there. I was almost sold on this product, however the instructions sort of turned me off. You have to massage into the nail beds, cuticles and undersides 3 times a day. Now, I wouldn’t say that I was TOTALLY forgetful, but I probabaly wouldn’t be able to keep up with 3 times a day. On top of that, I paint my nails every week for my own personal sanity and to show them off to you all- so not having polish on just isn’t an option. Next.

pinkarmour

PINK ARMOR NAIL GEL   – $8.14 (Walmart)

Now the packaging of the Pink Armor Nail Gel made me pick this one up. I noticed right away the little As Seen On TV label at the top right- which didn’t help me whatsoever because I’d never seen it on TV. For a whopping $8+ I was sure that this was probably going to work, yet I couldn’t get over the semi-edited look of the nails on the cover, plus the price. It wasn’t for me, but hey, if it works for you then I’m willing to try it.

nutranails

NUTRA NAIL 5 TO 7 DAY GROWTH FORMULA – $7.49 (Walgreens)

Now products made with Calcium and Protein I adore, so I was sure that the Nutra Nail 5 to 7 Day Growth Formula was going to be a winner.  However, the maintenace of this product was a drawback for me. If three times a day was too much for me, then two times isn’t any better. I know that I can keep up with two, but since I use nail polish every week I know that this wasn’t something that I was willing to invest in. Plus, I just don’t like packages that include an asterisk on the completed results (shown above).

So what did I end up deciding on after all this pondering?

nailaid

NAIL-AID COLLAGEN NAIL BUILDER –$3.88 (Walmart)

The Nail-Aid Collagen Nail Builder was the winner for me. Why? You’re probably thinking I just went with the cheapest option- which is wrong. One, if I wanted the cheapest option I would have stuck with my Hard as Nails Sally Hansen Nail Strengthener. Two, there was no price around this product, so I assumed when I brought this to the register, it would be around $8-$9 (Also, it’s like $20 on Amazon so that price difference throws me). What sold me was not only the packaging, which seemed professional, eye catching and reliable (advertising is important, people!). Plus the maintenance wasn’t too taxing, just use it once a week or even as a base for polish- which I was going to do anyway. Since I did purchase this product, I looked up reviews which overall seem pretty good!

As I use this product, I will update you all on how it is working for my nails! In the comments below, let me know which nail strengthening products you use and how they’ve worked for you in the long run!

xx- varnistha

5 thoughts on “WHAT DOESN’T KILL YOU MAKES YOU STRONGER

  1. Pingback: VARNISHTA TUTORIALS – VALEN-TEAL’S DAY MANICURE | varnishta

  2. Pingback: VARNISHTA TUTORIALS – COPPER AND RED DOTTED MANICURED | varnishta

  3. Pingback: VARNISHTA TUTORIALS: ODE TO IRELAND | varnishta

  4. Pingback: VARNISHTA TUTORIALS: FINGER CUFF FABULOUS | varnishta

  5. Pingback: VARNISHTA TUTORIALS: FINGERFUFF FABULOUS | varnishta

Leave a Reply

